Art in Public Places Committee

81 Art in Public Places-2

Florida Keys Council of the Arts

The Art In Public Places Committee (AIPP), was established in 2001 by the Monroe County Board of County Commissioners, creating Section 2-332(A),(Currently codified as Section 2-233), of the Monroe County Code (Ordinance 022-2001). The Florida Keys Council of the Arts serves as staff to this committee. The purpose of the AIPP is to enrich culturally and benefit the citizens and visitors of this County through the establishment of art in public places. The AIPP Committee is charged with administering purchase and installation of artwork under a 1% for art program in any new major County construction or renovation, as specified in Ordinance 022-2001.

Each County Commissioner appoints an AIPP Committee Member who lives or works in the respective commissioner’s district to serve a term concurrently with the appointing commissioner. There shall be one voting member who is either a board member or staff on the Florida Keys Council of the Arts. The remaining voting members must represent one or more of the following:

  1. Working Artist
  2. Art Professional
  3. Landscape Architect or Interior Designer
  4. Curator; or
  5. General Public

Two non-voting members are also appointed by the County Administrator on a project by project basis, who shall be familiar with the project through their position, or contract as the architect, the building project supervisor, or a similar nexus to the project.


Most Recent | View All 

ADA Assistance

If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in meeting proceedings, please contact the County Administrator’s Office, by phoning 305-292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711."


Leslie EadehDistrict 1Expires: 11/18/24
Susann D'AntonioDistrict 2Expires: 11/01/26
Cristina SpottswoodDistrict 3Expires: 11/01/24
Beth KaminsteinDistrict 4Expires: 11/15/26
Eric AndersonDistrict 5Expires: 11/21/24