Duck Key Security District Advisory Board

The Duck Key Security District Advisory Board was spearheaded by the Duck Key Property Owners Association, approved by the Monroe County Board of County Commissioners to create a Special Taxing District, established for the “purpose of providing security services” for the residential areas of Duck Key.

The advisory board is comprised of seven members all of which shall be District 4 appointments. Members are appointed to serve a term of three years. Vacancies are filled for the unexpired portion of a term.

Meeting 11/3/2020 Update: Members of the public may participate and make comment by the Zoom link listed in the agenda or by phone by calling number listed on the agenda. If a member of the public is not able to attend the meeting by phone or via the Zoom Webinar, equipment will be available to the public at Commissioner Rice’s office at 9400 Overseas Hwy, Suite 210 at the Marathon Airport.


Rick Sherman, ChairExpires: 05/19/24
Megan MerrymanExpires: 07/20/25
Laurie Oestreicher, SecretaryExpires: 02/17/24
Robert KelleyExpires: 05/19/24
Jon PorterExpires: 04/15/26
Tim Abner, Vice-ChairExpires: 08/17/25
Laurie KeilingExpires: 07/19/26

ADA Assistance

If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in meeting proceedings, please contact the County Administrator’s Office, by phoning 305-292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711."