Affordable Housing Advisory Committee

The Affordable Housing Advisory Committee was established on May 21, 2008 by Ordinance 014-2008 replacing the previous Workforce Housing Task Force. The mission of the committee is to address the issue of affordable housing opportunities for residents and workforce and to fulfill the requirements in Section 420.9076 of the Florida Statutes regarding the Local Housing Assistance Plan.

On February 18, 2009 Resolution 062-2009 was adopted retiring current membership, changing method of appointment, spreading required categories of membership through the Commission districts and setting a minimum frequency of meetings to once per year unless called more frequently by the BOCC.

The Board of County Commissioners adopted Resolution 139-2015 (May 20, 2015) establishing the duties of the Affordable Housing Advisory Committee. At the June 10, 2015 BOCC meeting Ordinance 014-2015 amending Section 2-700 was adopted to establish the 14 member committee.

Three additional members were appointed to the Committee at the June 2015 BOCC meeting.

On July 15, 2015 the BOCC approved a contract with FCRC Consensus Center, Florida State University, to participate and facilitate the Monroe County Affordable Housing Advisory Committee. Resolution 189-2015 (filing pending) was passed to add one additional duty to the committee’s tasks, namely, to evaluate and propose additional mechanisms to qualify and monitor the occupants of deed-restricted affordable housing.


Tim RootDistrict 1Expires: 11/2020
Kurt LewinDistrict 1Expires: 11/2020
Doug MaderDistrict 2Expires: 11/2022
Chris Todd YoungDistrict 2Expires: 11/2022
Warren LeamardDistrict 3Expires: 11/2020
Ken NaylorDistrict 3Expires: 11/2020
Hana EskraDistrict 4Expires: 11/2018
Edwin Swift IIIDistrict 4Expires: 11/2018
Joseph ScarpelliDistrict 4Expires: 11/2022
Paul CaceresDistrict 5Expires: 11/2024
Pamela CaputoDistrict 5Expires: 11/2024
Joanna WeinhoferCounty AdministratorExpires: 06/2019
Ed DavidsonCounty AdministratorExpires: 06/2019
Bill HunterBOCCExpires: 06/2019

*This is updated every three years.

ADA Assistance

If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in meeting proceedings, please contact the County Administrator’s Office, by phoning 305-292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711."

Supporting Documents

AHAC Resolutions

Monroe County Resolutions

Monroe County Ordinances

Florida Statute

Monroe County Land Development Code

Needs Analysis

Funding Mechanisms

Governing Bodies / Municipalities