News Flash

Fire - News Releases

Posted on: April 2, 2019


Firefighter/paramedics receive awards at luncheon

Florida Keys Emergency Medical Service (EMS) paramedics and firefighters were recognized at the annual Florida Keys EMS Awards that took place April 2 at Florida Keys Country Club in Marathon. Monroe County Firefighter/Paramedics of the Year include Andres Guzman, Sergio Sanchez, Jr. and John Redruello. Trauma Star Flight Nurse of the Year was Roger Torres.

“It is an honor to have this ceremony to distinguish the men and women of Monroe County who perform above and beyond the call of duty every day,” said Monroe County Fire Chief James Callahan.

Monroe County Commissioner Michelle Coldiron also attended the event and thanked all the men and women for their dedicated service. "It was an honor to attend this afternoon's ceremony celebrating the accomplishments of the first responders Countywide," she said.

Southeastern Medical Academy hosted the event. The state-of-the-art nationally acclaimed fire rescue training academy is located at the City of Marathon firehouse. Many of the academy's graduates work for local agencies.

In addition to the Monroe County Fire Rescue and Trauma Star employees who were recognized, the City of Key West, the City of Marathon, and the Village of Islamorada departments also gave awards to their firefighter/paramedics.  

Pictured: Monroe County Flight Nurse of the Year Roger Torres, left, and Monroe County Fire Rescue Firefighter/Paramedics of the Year Sergio Sanchez, Jr., Andres Guzman, and John Redruello are recognized for their dedicated service at the annual Florida Keys EMS Award ceremony on Tuesday.

Facebook Twitter Email