Reentry Program Core Task Force

Hurricane Re-Entry Workshop-1 LRMonroe County Emergency Management led a 16-person task force that examined the current reentry program following the mandatory evacuations in Monroe County for Hurricane Irma. 

The task force met four times to develop the 2018 Recommendation to improve the system in time for upcoming hurricane seasons. The 2018 recommendation was provided to Monroe County Administrator Roman Gastesi, Monroe County Emergency Management Director Marty Senterfitt and the Monroe County Senior Management Team for review, before going before the Board of County Commissioners for final approval.



Charge Statements: 

1) To determine if the current Reentry Procedure can be improved.

AND (only if the response to #1 is affirmative)

2) To create a recommendation for essential elements of an improved Reentry Procedure.

3) To recommend a timeline/process for implementation of new Reentry Procedure


The Core Task Force will make a recommendation to the Monroe County Emergency Manager and the County Administrator with regard to each of the above charge statements (1 or 1, 2 & 3). Any additional action will be at the sole discretion of the Monroe County Emergency Manager and County Administrator.


Coordinate and provide initial information to the Core Task Force through email coordination – Deadline February 15, 2018.

Hold a series of publicly noticed Task Force meetings complete the task force charge. 

Meetings will focus on:

  • identifying the primary concerns with the current Reentry Procedure,
  • soliciting feedback from various stakeholders invited to attend,
  • incorporating feedback from the public, and
  • utilizing realistic solutions to create a viable Reentry Procedure

Reentry Procedure Proposal will be presented to Emergency Management and County Administration for review. 

If approved by Emergency Management and County Administrator and at their discretion, a new Reentry Procedure could be presented to the BOCC for approval and implementation in the 2018 Hurricane Season.

Task Force Members:

Monroe County Strategic Planning Sr. Director Kimberly Matthews (Coordinator), Monroe County Mayor David Rice, Monroe County Commissioner George Neugent, State Attorney Dennis Ward, Monroe County Fire Rescue Deputy Chief Steve Hudson, Bill Hunter (resident and board member of Last Stand), Hal Leftwich (resident), Key West Chamber of Commerce Executive Vice President Virginia Panico, Monroe County Emergency Management Shannon Davis-Weiner, Florida Highway Patrol Lt. Kathleen McKinney, Monroe County Sheriff Office Col. Lou Caputo, Danielle Vaughn (Historic Key West Inns), Jeff Gagnon (resident and business owner), City of Marathon Fire Chief John Johnson, Village of Islamorada Fire Chief Terry Abel, and Monroe County IT Systems Analyst Gabe Price.